Interior Design and Developmental Stages

I discuss this with my clients often, so have been thinking about writing a post about it for some time now. During nursing training we spend a lot of time in psychology. A big part of this is studying Erickson, and Freud’s Developmental Stages. I have searched the net and post a copy below that spells it out quite well:

Eriksons Stages of Development

Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development as articulated by Erik Erikson explain eight stages through which a healthily developing human should pass from infancy to late adulthood. In each stage the person confronts, and hopefully masters, new challenges. Each stage builds on the successful completion of earlier stages. The challenges of stages not successfully completed may be expected to reappear as problems in the future.

The stages

Freud and Erikson Compared

Comparing Theories of Development

Sigmund Freud’s psychosexual theory and Erik Erikson’s psychosocial theory are two well-known theories of development. While he was influenced by Freud’s ideas, Erikson’s theory differed in a number of important ways. Like Freud, Erikson believed that personality develops in a series of predetermined stages. Unlike Freud